Skip to main content

SWS Hosts WFWS Exhibition in Grapevine, Texas

Dalynn Montgomery - 2/11/2023

SWS hosts the prestigious Western Federation of Watercolor Societies annual Exhibition

48th Western Federation of Watercolor Societies (WFWS) Exhibition Hosted by the Southwestern Watercolor Society

Exhibition Dates are May 6 – June 2, 2023

Tower Gallery in Grapevine, Texas

636 S Main St, Grapevine, TX 76051

Juror is Mary Whyte.

Western Federation of Watercolor Societies WFWS annual exhibition is a National Show, open to water media artists who are current members of one of the WFWS Component Societies (AWA, CWS, IWS, NMWS, SDWS, SAWG, SWS, UWS, WSO, WTWS)

The Western Federation of Watercolor Societies includes over 5,000 artists in ten societies across the western states. 

The Western Fed juried show is hosted each year by a different regional member society. We showcase works on paper created with a variety of water-based media. 

Membership in WFWS is automatic for any member of one the ten societies shown.


The 59th Membership Exhibition

The Southwestern Watercolor Society is one of the premier regional watercolor societies in the United States and holds a member exhibition every Fall that attracts entries from across the country. With more than 400 members, wide ranging examples of excellent paintings are submitted which result in a high quality show. The juror always has many wonderful paintings from which to choose.

The 2022 exhibition was judged by distinguished watercolorist, Ted Nuttall. On View from September 5 – October 1, 2022. Eighty-two paintings were exhibited at Art Gallery Pure at Willowbend Mall in Plano and $8000 was awarded to seventeen artists.

2022 Membership Award Winners

59th Annual Membership Exhibition Awards

Naomi Brotherton Award (Best of Show)

Kay Byfield, SWS Pickup at the Ready

Edgar A. Whitney WC Award

Jennifer Gillen Iris, Late Spring

First Place

Olivette Hubler On the Way to Santa Fe

Second Place

Ray Goodrow, SWS Mad Men Winter

Third Place

Cindy Daunis, SWS Quiet Reverie

Lou Bono Memorial Award

Nanc Gordon, SWS  Sunkissed

SWS Past Presidents' Award

Catherine Mayer, SWS Duo

Rob Erdle Memorial

Sondra Carr Morning Light and Coffee

Memorial for Past Members

Lisa Franklin House Rules 

Memorial for Michael Wortman

John James, SWS Standing Guard

Artisan’s Studio / Gallery Award and Asel

Jane Jones, SWS Spaced Out

Cheap Joe’s Art Stuff / Blick Art Materials / Creative Catalyst Productions Award 

Jan Shrader Echo of Whistler

Blick Art Materials / M Graham Award 

Robyn Jorde, SWS Goldenrod on FM 6

Cheap Joe’s Art Stuff / Princeton Art & Brush Award 

Ed Cunningham, SWS Caitlin at the Arboretum

Princeton Art & Brush / Blick Art Materials Award

Nancy Harkins Green Boots

Holbein Artist Materials / Blick Art Materials

Lynett Holder Mornin’ 

Golden Paint / Cheap Joe’s Art Stuff / Blick Art Materials Award

Jeffrey Jensen, SWS In Need of a Paint Job